Skip to main content

About me

Do Young Eun
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Graduate Professor of Computer Science and Operation Research 
EBII 3064, Box 7911 
North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC 27695-7911 
Phone: 919-513-7406

Do Young Eun received his B.S. and M.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Taejon, Korea, in 1995 and 1997, respectively, and Ph.D. degree from Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, in 2003. Since August 2003, he has been with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, where he is currently a professor. His research interests include distributed optimization for machine learning, network modeling and performance analysis, distributed and randomized algorithms for large social networks and wireless networks, epidemic modeling and analysis, graph analytics and mining techniques with network applications. He has been a member of Technical Program Committee of various conferences including IEEE INFOCOM, ICC, Globecom, ACM MobiHoc, and ACM Sigmetrics. He is serving on the editorial board of IEEE Transactions on Network Science and Engineering, and previously served for IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking and Computer Communications Journal, and was TPC co-chair of WASA’11. He received the outstanding paper award in ICML 2023, the Best Paper Awards in the IEEE ICCCN 2005, IEEE IPCCC 2006, and IEEE NetSciCom 2015, and the National Science Foundation CAREER Award 2006. He supervised and co-authored a paper that received the Best Student Paper Award in ACM MobiCom 2007. 

What’s new:


  • Outstanding Paper Award, (one of 6 outstanding paper award winners out of > 6500 submitted papers), International Conference on Machine Learning (ICML), Hawaii, July 2023
  • National Science Foundation (NSF) Faculty Early CAREER Award, Feb. 2006
  • Best Student Paper Award (from all papers whose first author is a student) in ACM MobiCom, Montreal, Canada, Sept. 2007
  • Best Paper Award in the IEEE International Conference on Computer Communications and Networks (ICCCN), San Diego, CA, Oct. 2005 
  • Best Paper Award in the IEEE International Performance Computing and Communications Conference (IPCCC), Phoenix, AZ, April 2006
  • Best Paper Award in the IEEE International Workshop on Network Science for Communication Networks (NetSciCom), Hong Kong, April 2015


  • ECE 220: Analytical Foundations of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Sections 002 & 602 (Spring’23, 22, 21, 20, 19)
  • ECE 592 / CSC 591, Section 069: Introduction to Network Science (F’22, F’20, F’18, F’17)
  • ECE/CSC 776: Design and Performance Evaluation of Network Systems and Services, (Spring’17, 16, 15, 13, 12, 10)
  • ECE/CSC/OR 579: Introduction to Computer Performance Modeling (F’23, F’21, F’19, Spring’18, 16, 14, 12, 10, 08, 06, 05)
  • ECE/CSC 792Y: Advanced Topics in Network Design and Optimization (Spring09, Spring07)
  • ECE/CSC 570: Computer Networks (Fall 2023–2016, Spring’–Fall’14, Fall’08-10,12, Fall’03-05)
  • ECE 407: Introduction to Computer Networking (Fall’15, Fall’13, Fall’11, Spring09, Spring08, Spring07)
  • ECE/CSC 791Q: Advanced Topics in Quality of Service (QoS) (Spring04)
  • Communication Network Analysis (EE627, KAIST), Spring 2011 (taught at KAIST, Korea, during sabbatical leave)


Current Ph.D. Students:

  • Jie Hu (Fall 2019~)
  • Yi-Ting Ma (Fall 2023~)
  • Feiya Xiang (Fall 2023~)

Former Visiting Scholars:

  • Xiaoying Lei (2019~2020)

Former Students and postdoc:

  • Vishwaraj Dilesh Doshi (PhD, Aug. 2022)
  • Shailaja Mallick (PhD, Dec. 2022)
  • Srinjoy Chattopadhyay (PhD, June 2020)
  • Xin Xu (PhD, Dec. 2015)
  • Postdoc — Dr. Fidan Mehmeti (Ph.D. Telecom ParisTech, 2015)
  • Jaewook Kwak (PhD, Dec. 2015), currently a postdoctoral researcher at Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
  • Chul-Ho Lee (PhD. May 2012), currently an assistant professor in the Dept. of Computer Science at Texas State University, San Marcos, TX 
  • Sungwon Kim   (PhD, Dec. 2010), currently in Samsung Co. 
  • Han Cai (PhD, Dec. 2009)
  • Yuh-Ming Chiu (PhD, May 2009), currently at Yahoo, Taiwan
  • Xinbing Wang (PhD, May 2006) currently a Distinguished Professor in EE at Shanghai Jiaotong University
  • Terrence A Vanvalkenhoef (MS, Aug. 2006)


Professional Activity: 

Technical Program Committee Members

  • IEEE INFOCOM 2005–2017, ICDCS 2010
  • ACM MobiHoc 2008, 2009, 2014–2018
  • ACM CHANTS 2013, 2016-2018, ITC 2016
  • IEEE ICC 2005–2009
  • IEEE GLOBECOM 2005, 2009
  • IEEE IPCCC 2006–2008,, IEEE ICCCN 2006, 2007, WICON 2008

Technical Program Committee co-Chair:

  • The 6th International Conference on Wireless Algorithms, Systems, and Applications (WASA 2011)

Editorial Board:

Served NSF Panel for ECCS and CNS 2005, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2013, 2015

Service: President for KSEA-NC Chapter 2017–2018